Day 14 – The Dog Did Not Eat My Homework Poem

You wake up this morning after you’ve hit the snooze button twice already. You put on your clothes and look for your socks. It’s late. All you can find are one blue sock and one red sock so you put them on. Then you realize as you are stuffing your books into your backpack that you didn’t finish your homework. Oh no. This is the second time this week and your hand still hurts from writing “I will not forget to do my homework” 100 times on the whiteboard. It’s time to think fast. You must convince your teacher that it wasn’t your fault that you didn’t do your homework. 

After three semesters of not always finishing your homework, you know three things about your teacher.

  1. She listens to you longer when you use lots of interesting adjectives.
  2. She likes compound sentences.
  3. She loves the number 3.

You have a plan. You are going to write her a poem that explains just why you didn’t finish your homework. Remember a compound sentence is two simple sentences  connected by words like and, nor, but, or, yet, and so. Give her three good reasons why you didn’t finish your homework. Don’t forget to use adjectives that will take her mind off of your bad habit of not turning in your work on time. And oh yes, she hates plagiarizing, so don’t use this poem:

My Dog Ate My Homework

My dog ate my homework.
That mischievous pup
got hold of my homework
and gobbled it up.

My dog ate my homework.
It’s gonna be late.
I guess that the teacher
will just have to wait.

My dog ate my homework.
He swallowed it whole.
I shouldn’t have mixed it
with food in his bowl.

–Kenn Nesbitt

Leave a comment